Goals for 2016

As 2015 draws to an end I am focusing on making 2016 a much better year. 2015 was a tough one and somewhere along the way I gave up, which just caused the downward spiral to pick up speed. Managing to get through the holidays ( even though they didn’t go smoothly) was a boost and a slap at the same time… Time to get my head back on straight and look forward. A new work schedule will certainly help– finally after 11 months I will be starting the new year with a set schedule. Now I can organize my time.

Which brings me to number one GOAL for the new year.

TIME MANAGEMENT!

I need to find balance and manage my time better. Take the necessary time to become better with the computer, social media tasks ( today is the first time I’ve been able to actually link to something- yea, step in the right direction) . work, family, sewing, quilting…. I have to find that balance.  Alot an hour in the morning for emails, socializing on the computer; an additional hour 3-4 days a week for blogging, networking, computer      * work*.

 

 

Get Organized!

I’ve started going through the * rubble* in my sewing room– already overwhelmed with UFO’s, projects everywhere. I’m going to sort, declutter, pass on and toss out.

Prioritize!

Boy, this is a hard one. I (want) to start with my oldest UFO & work my way forward…. But…. I have some obligations that need to come first. So, maybe two stacks, immediate and ( trudge along.

USE WHAT I HAVE!

I have a huge stash of scraps and yardage. Panels, themes, collections. Other than an occasional backing and thread I have no excuses to spend money on my quilting. I hope to put a huge dent in my stash over the next 6 months. I’m going to keep track of the amounts I use. Which brings me to the next goal–

KEEP GOOD RECORDS!

Put the journals and planners I have to use. Keep track of expenses, materials, time, tasks. I want to be able to look back at the end of the day, week, month, year and see how I’m doing, where I need to make adjustments, what I need to change. I have the tools– I need to use them.

Design

At least 4 new quilts. Learn to put together a good tutorial. Seek class/ teaching opportunities locally.

Enter 2 large quilt shows in 2016.

Join the piggy bank challenge and save for a trip to a large show.

Get pictures! Good pictures! Clean up those picture files!

OK, I might add to my list later but this is a good beginning I think– I sure look forward to a much more productive year. The procrastinating and overwhelmed mental health has taken its toll– time to jump in with both feet, with a smile and Get Things Done!

Happy New Year Every one!

I will be working tonight through to the new year– still working 6:30 pm until 7 am three nights a week; but at least now they are all in a row, so will have 3 1/2 days to accomplish other things.

Looking forward to a wonderful new year

Be Well!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Goals for 2016”

  1. Happy New Year to you as well and thank you so much for linking up. I wish you a wonderful 2016 and much success in meeting and exceeding your goals for yourself.

    I wanted to let you know that I edited the links you submitted to the link party because none of them actually brought us to your blog (I deleted one link and edited the second). To get the link to add to the link party, visit your blog and the blog post you want to share and highlight and copy the web address.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I tried to delete that first link & couldn’t figure it out. I think part of the problems I have is trying to do these things with my tablet. I copy, or save things then can never find them, or figure out how to paste anything. I’m going to have to work actual computer time into my time. I do look forward to accomplishing things this year! Colleen

      Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

